Project Purpose

Region 24 Emergency Management is leading the process with JEO Consulting Group of updating the Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) which focuses on the reduction or elimination of impacts resulting from natural and man made hazards throughout the region. Having an approved and updated HMP  in place is a requirement of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for communities, counties, school districts and other groups to qualify for several types of hazard mitigation funding opportunities. It also enables jurisdictions to be stronger and more resilient by:

  1. Reducing risk and impacts from disasters,
  2. Gaining eligibility for pre- and post-disaster mitigation grants, and
  3. Building partnerships within the jurisdiction


According to FEMA, every dollar spent on hazard mitigation planning results in a four-dollar savings on post-disaster cleanup and rebuilding. Members of the community, counties, schools, NRD, fire departments, hospitals, and other jurisdictions within the project area are invited to participate in this process by attending meetings and providing information for the plan.

This hazard mitigation plan update is funded by a FEMA planning grant. The cost shared 75% through federal funding and 25% through a local match. For this plan update Region 24 Emergency Management is providing the 25% local match. 

Location Map


Approved 2021 Hazard Mitigation Plan

A copy of the approved Hazard Mitigation Plan by section may be downloaded below.

Regional Upfront Section: This section is a regional overview of the Region 24 Emergency Management Agency planning area and contains Sections 1-6.

Boyd County Appendix: This appendix includes Boyd County, Village of Bristow, Village of Butte, Village of Lynch, Village of Naper, Village of Spencer, Boyd County Rural Water District #2, Boyd County Schools, and Naper Rural Fire District.

Brown County Appendix: This appendix includes Brown County, City of Ainsworth, Village of Johnstown, City of Long Pine, Ainsworth Community Schools, and Brown County Rural Fire Protection District.

Cherry County Appendix: This appendix includes Cherry County, Village of Cody, Village of Crookston, Village of Kilgore, Village of Nenzel, City of Valentine, and Valentine Rural Fire District.

Keya Paha County Appendix: This appendix includes Keya Paha County, Village of Springview, and Keya Paha County Rural Fire District.

Rock County Appendix: This appendix includes Rock County, City of Bassett, Village of Newport, and Rock County Public Schools.

Special Districts Appendix: This appendix includes Region 24 Emergency Management Agency, Lower Niobrara NRD, and Middle Niobrara NRD.

Appendix A: This appendix includes  documents of public involvement.

Appendix B: This appendix includes public meeting materials and worksheets.

Appendix C: This appendix includes worksheets to assist communities review and update the plan.

Appendix D: This appendix includes the hazard mitigation project funding guidebook.

Contact Information
Text Color