Project Purpose

The North Platte Natural Resources District (NRD), in collaboration with JEO Consulting Group, is in the process of updating their 2016 Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP). A hazard mitigation plan is a community-guided document that identifies vulnerability to hazards and mitigation projects to reduce or eliminate this vulnerability. FEMA requires that an HMP be updated and approved within a five-year period. Having an approved and updated plan enables your community to be stronger and more resilient by:

  1. Reducing your community’s risk and potential impacts from hazards and disasters such as: tornadoes, flooding, drought, hail, severe winter storms, agricultural plant and animal diseases, wildfire, chemical spills, etc.;
  2. Gaining eligibility for pre- and post-disaster mitigation grants, and
  3. Building partnerships within your community and across counties.


The planning area for the North Platte NRD HMP includes the counties of: Banner, Garden, Morrill, and Scotts Bluff. Members of the community, schools, NRD, fire districts, irrigation districts, and other jurisdictions within the four counties are invited to participate in this process by attending meetings and providing information for the plan.

This hazard mitigation plan update is funded by a FEMA planning grant. The cost is shared 75% through federal funding and 25% through a local match.

For more information about the North Platte NRD, please visit their website.


north platte nrd planning area map

2021 Hazard Mitigation Plan

The 2021 North Platte NRD Hazard Mitigation Plan was approved by the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on February 1, 2022. The final approved plan is available below for download.

North Platte NRD - Regional Plan

Special Districts Appendix - includes the following jurisdictions: North Platte NRD, Region 21 Emergency Management, Region 22 Emergency Management, Banner County Schools, Bayard Public Schools, Bridgeport Public Schools, Bridgeport Fire District, Broadwater Fire District, Lewellen Fire District, Minatare/Melbeta Fire District, Gering Public Schools, Irrigation Districts, Minatare Public Schools, Mitchell Public Schools, Scottsbluff Public Schools, Panhandle Public Health District, Western Nebraska Community College, and Western Nebraska Regional Airport.

Banner County Appendix

Garden County Appendix - includes all cities and villages within Garden County

Morrill County Appendix - includes all cities and villages within Morrill County

Scotts Bluff County Appendix - includes all cities and villages within Scotts Bluff County

This approved plan will expire on February 1, 2027.

Contact Information
Background Color
Text Color